navigation bar
   
njdep  
  New Jersey Division of Fish & Wildlife New Jersey Division of Fish & Wildlife
 
njdep home f&w home
Facebook Logo Instagram logo

Hooked On Fishing-Not On Drugs
Youth Fishing Challenge
Saturday, June 8, 2019

 

Girl with bass The Hooked on Fishing-Not on Drugs Program's Youth Fishing Challenge is a free statewide event to promote fishing among youths and their families. In 2019 it will be held on the first of the state's two Free Fishing Days, Saturday, June 8, when no license is required to fish regardless of age.

Registered youth participants may be eligible to receive prizes for the fish they catch during the event. Youth must be present at the end of the event to be awarded prizes. Those who are lucky enough to catch a trout tagged as part of the "Hook-A-Winner" Program will receive a special prize following the event.

Questions regarding participation or hosting an event can be directed to hofnod@dep.nj.gov.

This event is sponsored by NJDEP Division of Fish & Wildlife's Hooked on Fishing-Not on Drugs Program.

Event locations and information are listed below.

YOUTH FISHING CHALLENGE RULES
The following rules apply to all events:

1. Registration is required and FREE - see information below for the location you'd like to attend.
    Note: Each hosting organization/location may have its own rules or "need to know" information.

2. The event is open to all ages - no license or trout stamp is required on New Jersey's Free Fishing Days. The entire family is encouraged to join the fun!

3. Participating youths aged 20 and under are eligible to receive event giveaways and prizes.
    Note: Youths will receive a scorecard the day of the event and must turn in their completed scorecards to receive free giveaways and prizes.

4. PARTICIPANTS MUST BE PRESENT AT THE CLOSE OF THE EVENT TO RECEIVE A PRIZE!

YOUTH FISHING CHALLENGE EVENTS
Contact the sponsor of the event for registration information.

Atlantic County
Atlantic County Hooked on Fishing- Not on Drugs Coalition
Lake Lenape (West)
6303 Harding Highway
Mays Landing, NJ 08330
GPS: 39.456693, -74.739265
Adam Witcraft - Witcraft_Adam@aclink.org
609-675-7000 ext. 5400

Egg Harbor Township Alliance & Egg Harbor Township Recreation
Egg Harbor Township Nature Reserve
314 Zion Rd.
Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
GPS: 39.358475, -74.651355
Dena Danz - ddanz@ehtrec.com
www.ehtgov.org/munincipalalliance
www.ehtgov.org/recreation

Bergen County
Old Tappan Municipal Alliance & Environmental Commission
Bonnabel Nature Park
Old Tappan Rd.
Old Tappan, NJ 07675
GPS: 41.009599, -74.0099467
Anna Haverilla - haverilla@oldtappan.net
201-954-7573
www.oldtappan.net

Camden County
HOFNOD Team Gloucester Twp.
River Winds
West Deptford
GPS: 39.855517, -75.191520
Fred Klein - hockeyfred105@gmail.com
www.hofnodgt.com

Lindenwold Police Department
Lake Worth County Park
White Horse Pike & Rosemond Ave.
Lindenwold, NJ 08021
GPS: 39.805725, -74.964421
Lt. Justin Mastalski - jmastalski@lindenwoldpd.com
856-784-7566

Cape May County
Belleplain State Forest
Lake Nummi
Woodbine, NJ 08270
GPS: 39.247036, -74.85244
Kathleen Meyer - Kathleen.Meyer@dep.nj.gov
609-861-2404
www.njparksandforests.org/parks/belle.html

Cumberland County
Millville Recreation
Corson Park
Millville, NJ 08332
GPS: 39.395917, -75.019917
Samantha Cruz - Samantha.Cruz@millvillenj.gov
856-825-7000 ext. 7394
www.millvillenj.gov

Essex County
Bloomfield Police Department, Community Policing Program
Clarks Pond
60 Huck Rd.
Bloomfield, NJ 07003
GPS: 40.825203, -74.180725
Jonathan Donker - jdonker@bloomfieldnjpd.com
973-680-4100

Essex County Parks
Monte Irvin Orange Park
Center Street and South Harrison Street
Orange, NJ 07050
GPS: 40.759873, -74.232489
Frank Gesumaria - fgesumaria@parks.essexcountynj.org
973-735-6229

Hunterdon County
Hunterdon Co. Education Services Commission
Hoffman's Crossing Pond
37 Hoffman's Crossing Rd.
Califon, NJ 07830
GPS: 40.700723, -74.865025
Dennis Balodis - dbalodis@hunterdonesc.org
908-572-7715
Brain Bussard - bbussard@hunterdonesc.org
908-303-5074
www.hunterdonesc.org

Mercer County
The Watershed Institute
Wargo Pond
261 Wargo Road
Pennington NJ 08534
GPS: 40.357788, -74.766243
Tammy Love - education@thewatershed.org
609-737-3735
www.thewatershed.org

Tulpehaking Nature Center
Stacy Park Pond
1399 Riverside Drive
Trenton, NJ 08618
GPS: 40.232426, -74.797264
Cody J. McLaughlin - codymcLaughlin.work@gmail.com
609-558-3120
www.facebook.com/hofnodmercer/

Middlesex County
Middlesex County Office of Parks & Recreation
Roosevelt Park
151 Parsonage Rd.
Edison, NJ 08837
GPS: 40.550948, -74.340843
Rick Lear - Richard.lear@co.middlesex.nj.us
732-745-5988
www.middlesexcountynj.gov/About/ParksRecreation/Pages/PR/Roosevelt-Park.aspx

South River Parks & Recreation
Grekoski Park
Whitehead Ave.
GPS: 40.4380181, -74.3645816
Lakisha Thomas - lthomas@southrivernj.org
732-254-4412
www.southrivernj.org

Willingboro Recreation & Parks Dept.
Millcreek Park
300 Beverly Rancocas Road
Willingboro NJ 08046
GPS: 40.027699, -74.907326
Kendall Brunson - kbrunson@willingboronj.gov
609-877-2200 ext. 1111

Monmouth County
Leonardo State Marina
102 Concord Ave.
Leonardo, NJ 07737
GPS: 40.423965, -74.061759
Maggie Mitchell - Maggie.mitchell@dep.nj.gov
732-291-1333

Old Bridge Municipal Alliance for The Prevention of Substance Abuse
Cheesequake State Park
300 Gordon Road
Matawan, NJ 07747
GPS: 40.435060, -74.263240
Karen Tortorici - kstortor@oldbridge.com
732-721-5600 ext. 4022

Township of Neptune
Hamilton Fire Dept. Pond
NJ Rt. 33 & Jumping Brook Rd.
Neptune, NJ 07753
GPS: 40.211018, -74.084921
Dawn Thompson - dthompson@neptunetownship.org
732-869-1202

West Long Branch Recreation Committee
Franklin Lake
Locust Ave.
West Long Branch, NJ 07764
GPS: 40.296534, -74.019920
Jerry Natale- LTTLZKE@comcast.net
732-693-9462

Morris County
Morris County Park Police
Sunrise Lake
300 Mendham Rd.
Mendham, NJ 07945
GPS: 40.788104, -74.545044
Asher Rumfield - arumfield@MorrisParks.net
973-326-7638

Patriots Path Council, BSA
Parks Lake
73 Academy St
Rockaway, NJ 07866
GPS: 40.905754, -74.515606
Al Thomas - al.thomas@scouting.org
973-919-0389
To Register: www.ppcbsa.org

Ocean County
Ocean County Park, B.E.A.R. & Reel Fun Fishing
Lake Shenandoah
Route 88 (Ocean Ave.)
Lakewood, NJ 08701
GPS: 40.0872418, -74.199045
Chris Claus - cclaus@co.ocean.nj.us
732-277-9343
Mike & Deb Bennett - bear@boatingeducationandrescue.org
732-492-4009

Manchester Twp. PAL
Pine Lake
Beacon St.
Lakehurst, NJ
GPS: 39.815899, -74.988411
Dominic Fresco - dfresco@aol.com

Passaic County
Paterson MAPP-Silk City Anglers
Barbour's Pond at Garret Mountain Reservation
Pat DiIanni Boathouse
Woodland Park, NJ
GPS: 40.895675, -74.183859
Tenee Joyner - tjoyner@patersonnj.gov
973-321-1242

Shady Lake Park POA
Weaver Rd.
West Milford, NJ 07480
GPS:
Chuck Carbone - shadylakenj@gmail.com
973-902-5184

Salem County
Lower Alloways Creek Police
Maskells Mill Pond WMA
GPS: 39.486640, -75.399457
Ptl. Jake Liddle - jliddle@lacpd.com
856-935-7301

Sussex County
YMCA of Newark
Camp Linwood-MacDonald
1 Flatbrook Road
Sandyston, NJ 07826
Cherie Hammond - chammond@newarkymca.org
973-948-7090

Union County
HOFNOD Team Linden
Linden Department of Recreation
Wilson Park Pond
Summit Terrace
Linden, NJ 07036
GPS: 40.6364793,-74.2680222
Sandra Vazquez-Jackson - sjackson@linden-nj.org
908-474-9138
www.linden-nj.org

City of Plainfield, Division of Parks & Recreation
Cedar Brook Park
Plainfield, NJ 07060
GPS: 40.600790, -74.409593
Veronica Taylor - veronica.taylor@plainfieldnj.gov
908-753-3097

Warren County
Hackettstown State Fish Hatchery
5th Ave. & Reese Ave.
Hackettstown, NJ 07840
GPS: 40.843794, -74.833797
Liz Jackson - hofnod@dep.nj.gov

Jenny Jump State Forest
Ghost Lake
Shades of Death Road
Hope NJ, 07844
GPS: 40.922171, -74.893786
Ernie Kabert - ernest.kabert@dep.nj.gov
908-459-4366
www.nj.gov/dep/parksandforests/parks/jennyjump.html

Liberty Township Community Day
Mountain Lake
Lakeside Drive E
Liberty, NJ 07823
GPS: 40.857546, -74.982699
Amanda Loguidice - amandavl40@gmail.com
908-310-5876

Participants at Hoffman's Crossing
Participants at Linden event
Participants at Lacey Twp. event
Turtle covered in algae
Winners at Cheesquake SP event
Father and daughter at Merrill Creek Reservoir event
Lacey Twp. event
Sunfish
 

New Jersey's Hooked on Fishing-Not on Drugs Program

bottom footer contact dep privacy notice legal statement accessibility statement nj home nj home citizen business government services a to z departments dep home

division of fish & wildlife: home | links | contact f&w
department: njdep home | about dep | index by topic | programs/units | dep online
statewide: njhome | citizen | business | government | services A to Z | departments | search

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2019
Department of Environmental Protection
P.O. Box 402
Trenton, NJ 08625-0402

Last Updated: April 3, 2019